European Pork

High EU Standards

In the EU market, there is a common set of rules governing the production & marketing of pigmeat within the EU. The aim is to ensure the availability of high quality product for the marketplace and a reliable income for farmers.

Pigmeat production in the EU centres on large-scale family farm units, where best-in-class breeding and rearing conditions optimise animal health and welfare, food safety and meat quality. Pigs are reared in highly controlled indoor housing systems, which operate according to strict animal welfare and food safety legislation laid down by the EU.

EU food safety standards are extremely high. No growth hormones are allowed in the EU. The use of antibiotics and other medicines is strictly controlled and can only be used when absolutely necessary. No residual medicine can enter the food supply chain.

The EU food law has strict laws in relation to quality assurance, traceability, animal welfare and sustainability. To demonstrate these standards in action we are using Irish pigmeat market as a showcase for the industry.

Pork production in Ireland is entirely centred on family farms, which are passionately committed to excellence in production. In addition to the EU's mandatory standards, Irish pork exports meet the standards set by Ireland's Pigmeat Quality Assurance Scheme. In 2019, some 300,000 tonnes of pork was exported from Ireland, worth close to €1 billion. Exports of pork from Ireland have more than doubled over the past eight years, with discerning Asian markets such as China and Japan key drivers of growth. Asia now accounts for over 30% of Irish pork exports.

欧洲猪肉

欧盟高标准

欧盟市场执行一套通用条规来管理欧盟内部的猪肉生产和销售。其目的是确保为市场提供高质量的产品,并为农民的收入提供保障。

欧盟的猪肉生产以大型家庭农场为主。世界领先的配种和饲养条件最大程度地保障了动物健康和福利、食品安全和产品品质。农场主在严格管控的室内饲养系统中饲养生猪,日常运作严格遵循欧盟制定的严格的动物福利和食品安全法规。

欧盟食品安全实行严苛高标准,严禁任何生长激素,严格控制抗生素和其他药物的使用,只有在绝对必要时才可以使用,保证无残留药物进入食品供应链。

欧盟食品法对质量保证、可追溯性、动物福利和可持续性发展有着严格的法律规范。我们以爱尔兰猪肉市场为例,展示这些标准在实践中的运用。

爱尔兰的猪肉生产完全采用家庭农场的作业模式,每个农场主都全身心投入养殖生产,致力于打造卓越品质的猪肉。除了欧盟的强制性标准外,爱尔兰猪肉出口还符合爱尔兰的猪肉质量保证计划设定的标准。仅2019年,爱尔兰就出口了约30万吨猪肉,价值近10亿欧元。在过去的八年中,爱尔兰猪肉的出口增长了一倍以上,而不断扩张的亚洲市场(例如中国和日本)是增长的主要动力。亚洲现在占爱尔兰猪肉出口的30%以上。