European Poultry

Irish Poultry Industry

Today's Irish poultry industry is a testament to the pioneers, who in the mid 1960's, began to produce chicken, turkey and duck on a commercial scale to satisfy the then growing appetite for a more affordable protein meat source. The majority of these family owned companies were located in close proximity to the border with the North of Ireland giving them access to the main ports of Dublin, Belfast and Warrenpoint for sourcing much of their feed raw materials.

As the industry expanded, so too did the need for new purpose built housing. This challenge was met by contracting both egg and growing/finishing production to local farmers. These local producers invested in mainly timber farmed buildings which housed on average, 5000 birds with a growing cycle of an average of 10 weeks. With the passage of time, the level of integration increased between processor, hatching and growing.

Todays, the industry is one of the most modern in the world, with state of the art housing and processing facilities. Ireland has one of the highest per capita white meat consumption rates in Europe, this reflects consumers preference for flexible and affordable sources of meat protein which has helped underpin industry expansion over the last 15 years. It is fully integrated allowing for full traceability and control to ensure that welfare, food safety and quality can be optimised and achieved on a continuous basis.

Today's poultry producers are almost all owner managers, with their units based within their family farm unit. Producers have incorporated this enterprise into their farms to ensure an excellent opportunity to sustain the viability of food production.

There are 418 poultry sites in Ireland. Chicken production is the most important poultry species that is produced in Ireland, with around three quarters of Bord Bia poultry sites linked to this category. Hatcheries that are approved by Bord Bia deliver the highest quality day-olds to the industry. Chicken production is historically concentrated towards the North West of the country as producers responded to smaller farm holdings by switching farm enterprises to become more profitable and sustainable. There is also large number of poultry sites where poultry processors are based such as Cork and the surrounding hinterland.

Irish poultry production has increased significantly over the past number of years in response to evolving consumer behaviour. For 2020, poultry production is expected to reach record levels at 110 million head, with chicken accounting for 9 out of every 10 processed in Ireland. The Irish poultry industry benefits from being well consolidated, with just three key meat export plants located strategically where the main concentration of producers are positioned.

欧洲禽肉

爱尔兰禽肉产业

如今,爱尔兰禽肉业发展所取得的成就是先驱者数年的积累。这些行业先驱从1960年代中期开始,就用商业化的运作来规模生产鸡肉、火鸡肉和鸭肉,满足当时人们对高性价比蛋白质肉类持续增长的需求。这些家族企业大多靠近爱尔兰北部边境,以便出入都柏林、贝尔法斯特和沃伦波因特等主要港口,采购饲料原料。

随着禽肉行业的发展,对新厂房的需求也随之增加。当地生产商通过给本地农民承包鸡蛋、养殖或精加工生产来应对这一挑战。这些生产商主要投资木制农舍建筑,每间农舍平均可养殖5,000只家禽,平均生长周期为10周。随着时间的流逝,生产商、孵化和养殖的整合度越来越高。

如今,爱尔兰禽肉行业是世界上现代化程度最高的行业之一,厂房和加工设施先进。爱尔兰是欧洲人均白肉消费率最高的国家之一,消费者偏爱能够灵活用于烹饪的并且性价比较高的肉类蛋白质,而这也在过去的15年中促成了禽肉行业的扩张。禽肉行业实现了全面可追溯和可控制,以确保可以不断优化动物福利、食品安全和品质保障。

如今,禽肉生产商几乎均为所有管理者,生产单位位于其家庭农场内。生产者将家禽生产纳入其农场发展规划中,以维持食物生产的活力。

爱尔兰共有418个禽养殖场。肉鸡养殖是爱尔兰最重要的家禽养殖类别,爱尔兰食品局认证的家禽养殖场中,约有3/4与肉鸡相关。经过爱尔兰食品局认可的孵化场可为行业提供最优质的仔鸡。

历史上,肉鸡养殖集中在爱尔兰西北部,生产者通过农场翻新提高利润,促进可持续性发展,从而应对小规模农场的竞争。在科克和周围的腹地等地,同样也有大量家禽养殖场。

在过去的几年中,随着消费者的不断增加,爱尔兰家禽的产量亦大大增加。2020年,禽肉产量预计将达到创纪录的1.1亿,其中肉鸡占9/10。爱尔兰只有三个主要的家禽出口工厂位于战略性生产集中地,但良好的整合规划促进了家禽养殖的发展。